Ishmael in hibernation

Hibernation

My blog is in hibernation apparently. Suffering neglect. The fact is, blogging feels a bit too public and bothersome. Readers don’t really want to know the gory details of a strangers life … or do they?

I’ve gotton used to 140 character updates on twitter. writing much more than that seems long-winded or pretentious! Bytes of information should suffice.

What I’m reading:

Ishmael by Daniel Quinn.

I’m not done with this book yet, and I love it. Maybe I’m prolonging the ending by not getting to it … but I am surprised when people say ‘oh yeah I read it’ and then glibly move on to some other inane topic. How can you read this book and not be moved???!!  Probably people don’t want to talk about it b/c it left the metallic taste of blood and guilt in their mouth after they put it down, and that’s all they remember.

The premise of the book is that a resigned, post-hippie-era writer (Quinn?) finds his search for truth reignited by a classified ad by a teacher seeking a pupil. The teacher is an intelligent and telepathic gorilla who is trying to reach out to any Westerner that can possibly grasp the impact of what thousands of years of Western mythologies have done to the planet. Hello, is anyone listening?

Anyway, read it and be prepared to have the cultural perspective you’ve grown to take for granted be questioned and disassembled. My recomendation is to not try to put the pieces back where you think they should be – because you will be lying to yourself. Quinn is insightful in the way I wish more authors would be. He’s writing stories that matter.

Update January 25

I finished reading Ishmael yesterday. I don’t want to ‘ruin’ for anyone but I still like it as much as I did before. Actually feel I need to go back and reread the last few pages. I want to put a quote on here that I feel sums up what I got from the book…

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Adele said,

    Its pretty good, huh? I remember being very moved by it in high school. I should re-read.

    Thinking of you!
    ~Adele

  2. 2

    Hi Aletha,

    I’ve read and listened to the audio version of Daniel Quinn’s Ishmael many times throughout the years and remain in awe of its crystal clear message to the masses. In fact, it was one of the building blocks I needed to become an activist.

    Sincerely,

    Randy W. Sandberg


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

