Men vs. Women ???

I’ve always considered myself a feminist, even before I knew the word.

But today I just read the most mind boggling, hate-filled sexist web site that I think I’ve ever seen. Let me tell you, it poisons you. My brain hurts. I can’t believe most of what this guy was saying was serious – I was actually laughing in disbelief. Like “Wow, does this person actually think this way??!”  [I don’t want to link to it b/c it is soooo negative, but basically if you google ‘men better than women’ his is probably the top site. Don’t damage your brain though, and don’t waste your time/energy arguing with his hate speech.]

Originally, I was looking for some kind of humorous content like ‘Top 10 reasons women are better than men,” because it’s something I’ve been thinking about lately.  Generally I steer clear of declaring anyone ‘better’ than anyone else … it’s so relative.  Lately I’ve been getting pretty fed up with, but also amused by, the north american male gender. This conflict also points towards my own weaknesses as a woman – that despite the faults I may find with a/my man, those things endear him to me.

I wonder “Could I live without men?” I think the answer is ‘yes’. But do I want to?  I don’t think so.  I do miss comraderie with female cohorts though. This weekend I’m going to see Ani DiFranco live with a girlfriend of mine. It may be the boost that I need …

Leave a Reply

