Running for Crohn’s & Colitis research

I haven’t mentioned on this blog yet, but I am running a Half-Marathon in Napa CA in five weeks to raise money for the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America, which does research on those diseases. So far I’ve raised almost $1000 and have $2,900 to raise in the next few weeks! Read on for more info:

My fundraising site: http://www.active.com/donate/napa09michigan/AAsay

I will be hosting a Garden Party & Games fundraiser at my house on June 28th & will post the flyer soon!!

~~~~~

Here’s a little info, taken from my campaign letter:

Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis are collectively known as inflammatory bowel diseases. Crohn’s disease is a chronic (ongoing) disorder that causes inflammation of the digestive or gastrointestinal (GI) tract. Although it can involve any area of the GI tract, it most commonly affects the small intestine and/or colon. Ulcerative colitis on the other hand, affects only the colon. The inflammation involves the entire rectum and extends up the colon in a continuous manner. Ulcerative colitis affects only the innermost lining of the colon, whereas Crohn’s disease can affect the entire thickness of the bowel wall.  It is estimated that as many as 1.4 million Americans have IBD; however, many more suffer in silence due to potential embarrassment and alienation.  While IBD can occur at any age, onset usually occurs in people 15-35 years old, and over 100,000 children are affected.

You probably know someone (besides me) that suffers from either Crohn’s or ulcerative colitis.  I was first diagnosed with ulcerative colitis in 2001 in my last year of high school just as I began training for a triathlon (which I did not complete due to the illness).  I have been hospitalized from complications on two occasions and although I am in now remission, the doctors diagnosed me with pancolitis [the entire colon involved] in 2007. Training for and running this half marathon is helping me to reclaim my life and is a dream come true for me!

My case is mild, while many young people have to go so far as surgical removal of parts or all of their colon just to lead a relatively normal, pain-free life.  By helping CCFA raise money for research, the prognosis for IBD can be turned around in the near future.

Together, we can make a difference!  As a member of Team Challenge, I have a coach, a training program and teammates to support me. I have committed to a training schedule with additional trainings with my team on the weekends, and I’ve promised to raise at least $3,900 in donations to The Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America. I AM MOTIVATED! I AM COMMITTED!! I WILL DO IT!!! (Watch your mail for my post-event news update.)

By now I hope you agree with me about the importance of this cause. Please help support me by giving generously (think about donating the amount it would cost to go out for dinner and a movie with someone special!). A minimum of 80 cents per dollar raised by CCFA goes directly to research and patient support, and your contribution is tax deductible. Contributing money is a powerful way to be involved when you can’t give your time. If your company matches charitable contributions, please include matching forms with your donation. Of course, your good wishes and positive vibes to sustain me in my training and your praise as I cross the finish line will also be graciously accepted.

The easiest way to donate is on my website.  It’s quick, easy, and totally secure.  The web address is   https://www.active.com/donate/napa09michigan/aasay.  Or you can send a check, made out to Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation, to my address at 2075 Squirrel Rd., Bloomfield Hills, MI  48304Please respond by June 30th!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Though you posted this article several months ago, I would still like to thank you for doing so. I am currently training for the December half-marathon with TeamChallenge New York, and want to let you know what a great motivator it is to see and read the stories of other members around the country.

    Are you running the Vegas half?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

