One vegetarian at a time …

That’s how change happens.

I’m delighted to report that my beau of six months told me last night that he is committing, taking the first step and going to be a pesco-ovo-vegetarian (he’d already scrapped dairy after hearing a lecture by a vegan nutritionist)!  According to him, it’s a very logical decision and he’s approaching it from ‘mind over matter’ perspective. Next on his ‘to-read’ list: Animal Liberation by Peter Singer.

Slowly, one step at a time …

A few weeks ago my supervisor at work [who’s also a yoga teacher], committed to being vegetarian. We went grocery shopping together.

One step at a time.

My housemate/cousin told me yesterday that given the option for a chicken or vegetable dish, she opted for the vegetable dish.  She says how she feels better eating less meat and doesn’t crave it hardly anymore.

One vegetarian meal at a time!

I also met a lovely vegan gal at the art center this weekend. There were only 11 people in this group and 2 of us were vegan!  It’s so great to think what percentage of the population is now taking this easy step to alter their dietary & lifestyle choice for the benefit of their health, the planet, and of course, the non-human animals.

Slowly, it’s happening.  Consciousness is being raised.

Everyday I talk to people who are reducing their intake of animals & animal products, realizing how unecessary, wasteful and cruel it is.  I truly believe this is the way to a more peaceful, happy, healthful future.

I challenge you [readers] to take a 30-day pledge to go meat-free and see if you don’t feel better!  March is national meat-out month.  Just leave a comment and let me know if you’re taking this on …

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    alethafaye said,

    I would like to add that another friend of mine has given up dairy (got him hooked on Almond Breeze) and slowing going the way of less meat after meeting a few vegans …

    and to clarify – March 20th, the first day of spring, is meatout day – however, I still encourage the 30 day pledge!!

  2. 2

    ami said,

    hey, aletha! yeah, i’m game for a 30 day meatout. i was a faithful vegetarian for 5 and a half years, from january 1, 1999 til sometime in the summer of ’04. since i broke it, i’ve found meat to be addictive, particularly my love of seafood. i tell myself that creatures like scallops aren’t sentient beings, don’t even have developed nervous systems, and i’d like to see some non-overly-sentimental, scientific proof to the contrary. for me, seafood serves as a “gateway drug” of sorts, leading to more sentient & attractive creatures, and finally i’m eating steak again & feel really bad about it.

    that said, i think i’m going to keep eating my grandparents’ weekly fish fry, since every attempt at returning to vegetarianism has been met with mocking, and being the flaky fencesitter for the past 4 and a half years has washed away the credibility of the solid 5 and a half years devoted to abstention.

    i think it’ll be a fun thing to blog about, too. so, see you ’round on the blogosphere.

    xo,
    ami

  3. 3

    alethafaye said,

    Hey Ami!!
    That’s awesome! when do you plan on starting, and are you going to blog your ’30-day trial’? [what is your blog? or is it on LJ?] …

  4. 4

    ami said,

    my blog is linked from my name in the comments; it’s a crosspost of my writing on livejournal. i am going to blog about it, yes. happy march!

    xo,
    ami


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

