Ask Obama: Abolish Nuclear weapons

Abolishing nuclear weapons has always been cause I care deeply about. If anyone has ever read anything about Hiroshima & Nagasaki, or the use of depeleted uranium in the Middle East, then you will understand why.
I spent about two years of academic study on the topic of Hiroshima & Nagasaki and Atomic-Bomb Literature.  It was more than an academic exercise though … the survivors I met, the stories I heard and read touched me deeply, and  served as a daily reminder of why we must NEVER allow this to happen again.
I rarely take an unequivicol stance on an issue, but there is no question in my mind that nuclear weapons are a scourge to humanity and the planet and should never be used again.
Obviously, the U.S. would have to be one of the first, if not, the first to disarm. And THAT would be a huge statement for us to make to the rest of the world, to show how we are truly committed to peace on the planet.
Please, if you haven’t already signed up on change.org, do so, and vote for the top 10 ideas you feel the Obama administration should consider. My blog has been listed as one of those endorsing this idea.
More links:
Nuclear Age Peace Foundation 
Testimony of Survivors of Hiroshima & Nagasaki (Hibakusha)
Hell on Earth
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    barrymax said,

    nukes were a souirce of nightmares for me when i was an adolescent. I was deeply affected by NOTION OF A MODERN DAY NUCLEAR WAR.
    I still am.
    What strikes me the most…what scares me the most…is we are the only ones that ever actually used them and justify it to this very day.
    Scary indeed.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

