Love letter

It’s been a few weeks since the last letter/post here. I want people to know (in case they are worried) that things are fine – I’ve just been going in and out of a general disappointment with situations, people.  The other side of that is that thankfully the friends I have made here do shine through and remind me of all that is worthwhile in Utica.

Lately I have been reading this cheesy compilation of historical love letters. They are charming, and quite fascinating … I guess I am looking for some answers or questions to my own emotions.

In any case, I am posting a ‘love poem’ that I wrote a few months ago, really a found poem, composed from lines of imho one of the best lyrical albums ever – Vespertine, by Bjork.  * Disclaimer: One of the songs on the album in an e. e. cummings poem set to music, and of course I had to borrow some of those lines.*  The music on this album is very powerful, and this poem, for me, is erotic but sad and dark.

 

I have a recurrent dream

  pedaling through the dark currents

of the pleasure in me,

  looking hard for moments of shine.


Through the warmest cord of care

  your love was sent to me.

I’m not sure what to do with it.


Swirling black lillies totally  ripe …

Feel my breath on your neck

  and your heart will race

But careful, careful

  There lies my passion hidden,

there lies my love.

I will take the sun in my mouth.

Will I complete the mystery of my flesh?


I wake up

   and the day feels broken.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ClapSo said,

    I can relate…

    Glad things are OK by you I was worried.

    I haven’t heard anything from Cris over at Unknown Writer in months, ya got any news? I’m worried about her too.

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  2. 2

    barrymax said,

    I love cheesy compilations…btw what does imho mean. Is it an acronym?
    What the hell I’m almost forty…eff it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

