Hand Talk

Oh My! I haven’t written in quite a while, so an update is due.  Something is going on funky with my formatting here, so please ignore the lack of line breaks … 

 Though I spend some time here talking about alternative therapies, sometimes there is no replacement for good ole’ fashioned Western surgery … as was the case with my spouse, N, who sliced up his hand pretty good almost two weeks ago.  He managed to severe four tendons and a nerve in his right hand, and had reconstructive surgery last Friday for it. [Picture below illustrates where the cuts are]. I haven’t seen his hand since the surgery, since it’s been bound up in a giant bandage and I wasn’t able to go with him to the doctor’s today. Hand  So we’ve been pretty preoccupied with that. In the meantime, I had been crocheting up an excessive amount of fake food and small amigurumi animals … a new obsession.  And I sold my first handmade item – a crocheted veggie burger where all the pieces come apart (play food).   I’ll be putting pictures up on ravelry and etsy soon too, once I secure a camera.  Interestingly, I’ve noticed that my creativity/motivation waxes and wanes with the moon – no kidding.  The two weeks before my period are the most manic  productive for me.   Tonight is the night of my presentation on Living with and Healing Colitis/IBD Naturally.    In a few weeks, some friends and I will be putting on a food workshop covering a variety of topics – vegetarian meal planning, quick and easy foods, flatbread making, energy of herbs and spices, medicinal teas etc. My section will be on Sprouting and Live Foods and salad dressing method (yes there is a method). See the flyer here –>Food Workshop Flyer  This workshop has been a long time in the making, it seems, as it is some of the same group that had been meeting for about a year trying to get a co-op off the ground.We realized, I think, that the main thing we want to accomplish with that is the educate and expand people’s idea of food, and to be conscious about their eating.  Since eating permeates so much of our culture, food choices have a HUGE impact on the well being of individuals, communities and society as a whole. 

Leave a Reply

