Naturopathic Medicine

N and I took a trek out to Auburn yesterday to visit a holistic naturopathic doctor. The trip was was a bit trying, but well worth it. She took my entire history down, and not just all the ‘medical’ stuff but other information about my life etc. In the end we came up with a plan to support me getting more nutrition back in my diet to support my body’s natural healing ability and to calm/soothe the overactive colon, and we also focused on balancing my hormones that seem to be out of whack.
If you are interested in basic nutrition/nutrition for colitis, this might be of interest to you. The supplements I am on are all capsule or powder form for easier digestion, and include a natural Iron+vit C+herbal (integrative absorption for iron, since I am anemic right now), Integrative Nutrition Multi-V, powdered magnesium (low dose), double dose of Metagenics Ultra-Flora DF (possible the best probiotic out there) and an herbal soother for the colon wich includes slippery elm, marshmallow root, and licorice etc. I don’t usually take a lot of supplements, but it seems necessary right now to restore my health.
Foodwise, she also reccomended eating 1-2 tsp of tumeric a day and up to 3 tbs flax oil a day (since I don’t eat fish). And I’m to go back on my AM smoothie regimen, which includes powdered wheatgrass and maca root with banana. Blended soups, very cooked vegetables avocados, and rice all seem like very safe foods to me right now. Also, I’ve been eating some dairy & eggs with no ill effects.
To balance my menstruel cycle (which we identified as pro-estrogen) she suggested that I eat 2 tsp of flaxmeal a day in the early phase of the cycle and 1000-1500 mg Evening Primrose Oil a day during the latter part of the cycle. We’ll see how that works out, b/c I had been taking both all the time. Also, I’m going to start doing the castor oil packs regularly.
What I found most affirming is that a lot of these things were things I had researched and started on my own, but with not positive reinforcement or certainty that they were the ‘right’ things, so hearing all this from the DR. was great. I have a follow up phone call in five weeks to see how it’s going …

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] Here is an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptIn the end we came up with a plan to support me getting more nutrition back in my diet to support my body’s natural healing ability and to calm/soothe the overactive colon, and we also focused on balancing my hormones that seem to be … […]

  2. 2

    […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  3. 3

    Barry has some digestive isues as well. We found out he is allergic to beef (IRONIC). He is also allergic to peanuts and wheat and dairy products.
    We were like- man what is he going to eat.
    we have a supplement and lots of beans and rice it seems to be one of his favorites.
    I am glad you are writing
    You are getting better already.

  4. 4

    […] alethafaye wrote an interesting post today on Naturopathic MedicineHere’s a quick excerptThe supplements I am on are all capsule or powder form for easier digestion, and include a natural Iron+vit C+herbal (integrative absorption for iron, since I am anemic right now), Integrative Nutrition Multi-V, powdered magnesium (low … […]

  5. 5

    […] Organic put an intriguing blog post on Naturopathic MedicineHere’s a quick excerpt […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

