Back into it …

At this point it would be easy for me to throw up my hands ands say “i’m just not a blogger” or “I’m just not a writer.” I’ve let small obstacles get in my way or writing anything consistently, perhaps hiding the fact that I just don’t put the effort in to say what I want to say , post the interesting things I want to post, and in general laziness.
As a brief chronicle of life though, this will serve as an update. Last Friday I was admitted to the hospital and stayed there until Tuesday to treat Ulcerative Colitis … [an auto immune disease whereby the lining of the colon is chronically inflamed] … long story short this is a ‘diagnosis’ that I’ve had for seven years, on meds for six and then actively trying to ‘heal’ myself for the past year, sans pharmaceuticals. While I have made much progress, I ended up in the hospital with the inflammation having spread to my entire colon and a warning that letting it go again could drastically increase my chance of cancer- very painful and scary indeed.
Needless to say, I’m taking the drugs again if only to save my life. I am working out alternative therapies to use in conjunction with the drugs so I don’t have to take as many in the long run. Again I am truly blessed to have such a support system and network of healers and listeners around me – friends and family. All the doctors that I saw were very respectful of my right to choose or refuse treatment and I received excellent care at the hospital I stayed at, even though I didn’t have insurance.
In all, the experience created a space of completion and ‘what’s next’ … Just another wake up call that I can’t afford to live my life without active participation, and that I get to say how it’s going to go. I’m not a victim of circumstance but can create an environment that will help me succeed in the ‘face of’ those circumstances.

***
New Books/reading materials:
(obviously I went on a B&N binge)
Adbusters #74
Autobiography of a Yogi by Paramahansa Yogananda
Studying about Tara (the female incarnation of the Buddha)
The Gaia Project 2012 by Hwee-Yong Jang
Still working on Don Juan Road to Ixtlal

Writing –
Article submitted to beturtle.com, but I haven’t seen it up there yet … keep checking for me!
Business plan for bulk herb and tea shop??
– this would be my dream come true right now-

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ah man- i hope you know that everything changes all the time. You will improve. it is good to see you writing. I heard that can help with ULCERATIVE COWATCHAMACALLIT.
    Seriously if I saw you in a hospital bed I would probably cry(not in front of you).
    Last night I saw ‘Amazing Grace’ it is a film about British abolitionist Wilberforce. He had Colitis. It flared up in stressful times. it seemed painful.
    I know the universe will align for your betterment. Be patient.

  2. 2

    alethafaye said,

    Thanks David-
    Man I almost rented that movie the other night too πŸ™‚ I’ll have to check it out.
    I’ve been reading your site but refraining from commenting, but I enjoy reading it.
    thanks for the post about our wedding – it was affirming and touching to see πŸ™‚
    Thanks for all the support. I’ll see you around!
    Peace


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

