Runs on veggies …

I left work early today. (actually I am there on more of a volunteer basis now.)

So I biked over to the local public library to see if I could put up a poster for my first Wellness Workshop that hun and I are putting on in August. Found out, however, that they only allow non-profit orgs to post their stuff there.

As I walked in though, I noticed something I’ve never seen in Utica before, something which made me smile and was a bit serendipitous (spelling?) : “The Veggie Voyager” – a van with posters all over it explaining veg oil engines… turns out the owner is Jay Mankita, a rather well-known singer/songwriter who travels around doing children’s programs and concerts.

I talked to him for a few moments to see what his deal is — turns out he also writes for the blog The Jew & The Carrot, on “Jews, food and contemporary issues.”  After noticing my anti-war button on my coat, he gave me a few CDs to possibly review, which includes some good-natured political criticism.  It’s good to run into people who are really doing things they believe in and I definitely give press and props to those people.  It is also affirming to me and happened just in time to keep me from losing heart …

I think I’m going to start putting a sign on my back when I bike:

“Runs on Veggies”

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aletha that is awwwwsssuuuummmmm!!!! Total cosmic alignment, one day I’ll say to my kid/s , ” i used to work with her,we helped change the world”.

    David Bass Dancy

  2. 2

    alethafaye said,

    Ha ha … thanks for the encouragement. 🙂
    and tell Barry I said happy birfday!

    I did make a sign. As I am riding my bike about 5 miles to my [other] job, I’ll be wearing it today… not one to keep my mouth shut, got to stimulate people’s minds somehow!!

  3. 3

    ClapSo said,

    ROFL, I just saw you go by on your bike with that sign on your back! Rock on!

    I’m going to put a sign on my back that says “Runs on Beef Steak” to give my fave food equal time!

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

